Indigenous Lawyers Association of Queensland Inc -

The Indigenous Lawyers Association of Queensland Inc ("ILAQ") was founded in 2007. Our current membership consists of members of the judiciary, barristers, solicitors and law students from across Queensland. 

ILAQ assists indigenous lawyers and law students by providing ongoing support and advice through their career. 

Our primary objective is to increase the number of indigenous Australians practising in the legal profession in Queensland. 

World Indigenous Legal Conference 2014

ILAQ hosted the biennial World Indigenous Legal Conference (“WILC 2014”) between 24-27 June 2014, at the Queensland University of Technology in Brisbane, Gardens Point Campus, Australia.

The conference theme was "past, present, future".

The WILC 2014 was an important worldwide event for Indigenous lawyers, academics and any persons with an interest in the legal issues that affect Indigenous Peoples.

In 2014 the annual National Indigenous Legal Conference was combined with the World Indigenous Legal Conference.

We wanted to thank the following sponsors for their support in making WILC 2014 a success:

  • Gilkerson Legal
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • Queensland Law Society
  • Gadens
  • Bar Association of Queensland
  • National Indigenous Research and Knowledge Network
  • Allens-Linklaters
  • Global Fund for Women
  • Black Drum Productions
  • Griffith University Law School
  • Minter Ellison Australia
  • Navarro & Associates
  • Rice Legal
  • Redcliffe Projects Consultants
  • Bush Heritage Australia
  • Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions
  • Accor Hotels
  • Women Lawyers Association of Queensland
  • Neil Lofgren Trust

The next World Indigenous Legal Conference will be held in the United States of America in 2016. 

The next National Indigenous Legal Conference will be held in Melbourne in 2015. 

Annual General Meeting 

The Indigenous Lawyers Association of Queensland will hold its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Thursday 14 August 2014 at Gilkerson Legal’s office, Level10, 15 Adelaide Street, Brisbane Qld 4000.

Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint